Lakeviews Mauldin retires after 37 years

A high school basketball coaching icon has decided to call it quits after 37 years.
Garland Lakeview Centennial coach Tony Mauldin officially made his plans for retirement public on Wednesday. Mauldin will step down as Lakeview coach with more than 800 career victories, 173 of those with the Patriots.
In nearly four decades, Mauldin compiled an 818-447 record coaching at Lakeview, Boerne, Merkel and Morton high schools. He also coached junior college and Division II basketball. Mauldin compiled a 173-89 record in seven years at Lakeview. The Patriots finished 37-2 this season and featured three college signees in Chris Jones (North Texas), Toddrick Gotcher (Texas Tech) and Jamarlas Demas (West Texas A&M).
Mauldin won UIL Class 2A state titles at Morton in 1983, 1986 and 1987. He coached Lakeview to back-to-back appearances in the UIL Class 5A finals this year and last year - the program's only trips to Austin. In addition, Mauldin was named the NFHS National Coach of the Year during this year's state tournament.
"It's not about me," Mauldin said after Lakeview's state-semifinal win against San Antonio Taft. "It's about these kids out there. They're the ones who put in the work."
Assistant coachJ.T. Locklear is the current interim head coach. He has been recommended by Mauldin to take the position full time.
Mauldin, for years, has been looked at by coaching peers as one of the classiest individuals in the business. He and his coaching staff were the talk of the Class 5A state finals this year and last year when they wore tuxedos on the sidelines.
Most importantly, Mauldin was someone his players listened to and respected - as a coach and as a father figure.
"He is a great coach. He pushes his players to their full potential," Gotcher said. "He is a great man who taught us life lessons."
Demas added: "Not only is he a great coach, but he's also a great person. He's a man of wisdom and knowledge. He has a kind soul and an angel's heart like no other."
Mauldin is a 2010 Texas Association of Basketball Coaches Hall of Fame inductee, as well as a 2010 Garland Sports Hall of Fame inductee.